Welcome to Cashion
Cashion then and now.
The Rock Island railroads met at Cashion on land owned by the Guthrie & Kingfisher Improvement Company, William C. Grimes, was the president of the Guthrie & Kingfisher Improvement Company at the time.
Cashion had been surveyed and plotted with company property completely surrounding it, so that any future additions could be controlled. On April 26, 1900, the company held a sale of lots. The first train arrived, from Kingfisher, on May 29, 1900, and the second, from Seward, on July 1, named for Roy Vincent Cashion, a Hennessey boy killed at the Battle of San Juan Hill during the Spanish-American War. Cashion was incorporated in 1901.
Soon after its founding the town had two grocers, two saloons, a dry goods store, a livery and feed stable, about a dozen other retail businesses, and the First National Bank. Although in 1909 state gazetteer claimed 420, the first official census figures indicated 256 residents in 1907, and the 1910 census counted 289. By that time the community supported Christian, Congregational, Free Methodist, and Methodist Episcopal churches, two banks, two telephone exchanges, and a weekly newspaper.
El Reno Mill and Elevator and Farmers Cooperative Gin and Mill companies handled the township's crops, primarily wheat. Newspapers serving the residents included the Cashion Advance from 1901 to 1907, and then the Citizen in 1909, and the Independent from 1908 through 1939.
Cashion today still has the same country values, we look out for the small guy and wave at each other as we drive by. Small local business are a driving force and the community loves to support them. Cashion is 22 minutes from OKC but nestled safely away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. The 2023 US census listed the population of Cashion at 901.